Funny Business

I’ve been thinking about humor.

I really appreciate people who can make me laugh.

Being funny is a gift and an art.

Sitting alone with my husband one night I looked over at him and said, “I am not funny.” To which Drew said, “Huh?” and then he loked at me with a pitying look and continued, “Lets just say that of the two of us, you’re the serious one. But you sure know how to laugh at things that are funny.”  

I really wish I was funny. Once in a blue moon something will come out of my mouth that is truly, smartly funny.  And it always surprises me. More often than not I keep my mouth shut and let the really funny people do their thing, because usually when I try comedy I fall hard.

There are different kinds of funny.  Off the top of my head I can think of slapstick, wit, sarcasm… hmm.. there’s gotta be more.  what’s your favorite funny? 

I love wit. It takes thought, timing…  I cant stand sarcasm.  It’s like cheap humor.  Anybody can do sarcasm.  Heck, even I could do sarcasm.  Good slapstick usually gets laughs out of me too – but then i feel mean: sitting comfortably, laughing at someone elses misfortune.

But as my Love pointed out I can laugh.  I love to laugh, it is so good for us, you know?  More often than not I find myself laughing much louder than anyone else in the room, and I quickly turn down the volume and think, “Gosh! How long was I laughing so obnoxiously loud? Does it sound that loud to everyone else? Why doesnt someone ever tell me to shut my trap?”

I guess I must have good friends.   And thank God so many of them are funny, otherwise Ms.Serious here would shrivel up from humor deprivation.

One thought on “Funny Business

  1. you’re right…i do like this site. glad you came.

    i also like wit. it is so much based in timing. it’s good.

    i also dislike sarcasm. i didn’t realize this until recently how much i do. i mean it’s funny with the occasional tease but last week i was around a group of highly sarcastic people. daniel and i decided that sarcasm isn’t humor, but it’s a critical spirit trying to be socially appropriate. it’s just mean most of the time. i didn’t used to get why people would preach about sarcasm…now and do. ok, but i’m not a joke-nazi, but just be kind. 🙂

    good to see you back in e-world.

Leave a Reply

