Friday Five

Inspired by Kris.

Five things that make me happy:

1) My son’s fabulous attempts at intelligent humor.  Today I told him I was going to help some church friends prepare some things for an upcoming women’s retreat.  He said with a sly grin, “What are you retreating from? Or are you revolting????”

2) My daughter’s zany silliness.  We sat together on the couch today before Blake was home from school and just made nonsense jokes for about fifteen minutes.  We were giggling so hard tears were rolling down my cheeks.  Nothing we said made any sense whatsoever, but thanks to that crazy mother-daughter bond, we totally understood eachother.  And of course it ended in a tickle fest.

3) My new chemistry teacher.  A kind and funny Jewish man who is supplying a copy of the periodic table of elements for every test so we don’t have to memorize it.  Oh yes. This made me happy.

4) My Bacon-Parmesan Pasta. It’s a great budget meal.  Garlic-cream sauce that is oh-so-bad for your waistline and oh so heavenly for your tastebuds. Add some chopped green onions and pine nuts and serve with spinach salad. mmmm…..

5) Good hugs.  I love good hugs.  I was hugged on Sunday by a dear friend I don’t get to see very often, and it was an awesome, genuine, squeeze-the-life out of eachtother for twenty-seconds kind of hug.  Yes. I was blessed by a hug.

4 thoughts on “Friday Five

  1. LOVED IT!!!!!! I feel so honored for the ‘shout out’, yo! Try THIS one on your daughter (its what Maya said to me today after we had a series of knock knock jokes that made no sense of course):

    Maya – “Mommy, say ‘knock knock’…”
    Me – “OK…knock knock…”
    Maya – “Come in!!!”

    She thought that was HILARIOUS! xoxo from deep in the heart of TX

  2. Grace would totally get a kick ou of that knock knock joke. She thinks that whatEVER is said after “who’s there?” is something that is to be hysterically laughed at.

    For example, her favorite for a long time (an attempt to remember part of a longer joke her brother tells involving bananas and an orange…) was:
    “knock knock”
    “who’s there?”
    “orange.”
    then the fits of laughter…

    thanks, Kris. xo

  3. There is NOTHING quite like the happiness that our kiddos bring us – and I love that yours bring you joy in such unique ways. (they both crack me up too, by the way!)

    Hope you are having a great week, Amy.

Leave a Reply

