mercy

Lord,

I had a good day. 

Until I started talking too much.

I allowed cynical and negative words to spill from me several times today.  And then suddenly it seemed, I was not having a good day, and I was fighting a sadness.

In my head now I hear, “Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.” 

Haven’t I been filling my heart with good?

I was having a good day.  Wasn’t I?

Until I was careless. 

Are we good, God?

Yes, the song in my head says over and over that His mercies are new every morning.

Perhaps I am taking on burdens that are not mine to carry.  Trying to do too much in my own strength.  And since that’s a train-wreck waiting to happen, cynicsm was just ready and waiting to spill out of me.

Father forgive my bitterness. I’m giving you back these burdens I’ve been carrying. Bless the Lord, oh my soul!  He is able. 

Fill my mouth with laughter and songs of praise, so that all who hear me will rejoice at your goodness and put their trust in you, accepting your saving grace.

Thank you for your promises.

Amen.

 

I Will Praise You.  Psalm 42.

Alone in the silence
Lord I can feel You all around me
All around me
Deep calls to deep in the roar of the waters
All of Your waves have crashed over me
Lord I can feel You
Like many waters
Flood over me (5x)

Why are you so downcast oh my soul
I will yet praise Him
My Savior, my King
Why are you so downcast oh my soul
Raise Your voice and sing
Put Your hope in Him

2 thoughts on “mercy

Leave a Reply

