Dreams – 2/10/09

I had a great dream last night. It may have only lasted a few seconds, but it was an exciting few seconds.

I was running through a jungle – that’s exciting already isn’t it? It was tropical – brightly colored strange plants and vines were everywhere. Suddenly, I felt surrounded by faceless enemies. My heart was beating fast- but I was not afraid. I had a fierceness and a strength unlike I have ever experienced. In my hands I held the most beautiful sword. It was a substantial sword – the double-edged blade was well over four-feet long, maybe five inches wide and as shiny as a mirror. The handle was elaborately carved, gleaming gold. I began to swing my SWORD, and just kept swinging it. To my left and right, behind me and in front, I was slaying enemies on all sides with the precise and ly weapon. I had no fear. Though the enemies seemd to multiply, coming out of nowhere, I kept swinging. I did not grow tired, and I was winning. It was an AWEsome feeling – and then I woke up.

To me, the Sword represents the Word of God: The Bible, Jesus – for Jesus was the Word made flesh.

“For the Word that God speaks is alive and full of power [making it active, operative, energizing, and effective]; it is sharper than any two-edged sword, penetrating to the dividing line of the breath of life (soul) and [the immortal] spirit, and of joints and marrow [of the deepest parts of our nature], exposing and sifting and analyzing and judging the very thoughts and purposes of the heart.” Hebrews 4:12

There are battles in my life that I have little or no control over inasmuch that I cannot simply wish them away. And yet, I carry a substantial weapon against which no enemy can stand: The Word of God. With only a Word He created the Heavens and the Earth. Our words are more powerful than we can ever imagine. It is written that the tongue holds the power of life and (prov. 18:21) By reading the Bible, soaking it in, mediating on it’s promises, my strength is restored.

I have seen this in my life! I am confident in God’s promises for me. The more I read, the more I am encouraged. For those who belong to Christ, no moutain is too big to be cast into the sea (Matt 17:20.)

Over and over, speaking God’s words has brought restoration and wholeness to me and my family. From out of nowhere, we recieve a check in the mail. When difficult relationship situations arise, I can forgive and find restoration by His strength and through reading and praying scriptures like Romans 12:18 – “If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.”

Praise God for the gift of His Word.

Isaiah 55
8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
neither are your ways my ways,”
declares the LORD.

9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth,
so are my ways higher than your ways
and my thoughts than your thoughts.

10 As the rain and the snow
come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,

11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

Psalm 149:6
May the praise of God be in their mouths and a double-edged sword in their hands,

Ephesians 6:17
Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God

Leave a Reply

