Day Six: It is Good.

“Then God saw everything that he had made, and indeed it was very good.  So the evening and the morning were the sixth day.  Thus the heavens and the earth, and all the host of them, were finished.”

Sundays are typically only a little less busy than every other weekday, thus I cherish my Saturdays.  And so…

Today, I rested.  

Today I helped my kids create some pancakes.  Which were delicious by the way.  I have finally found my favorite buttermilk pancake recipe. My six-year-old cracked the eggs and my nine-year old poured and flipped nearly all the pancakes by himself.  

Today I took a cat-nap on the couch, half-listening to my kids play nonsense imagination games in the hall.

Today I created a collage for my husband who is so selflessly working at his second job tonight.

Today I chose not to exercise, not to call anyone. 

I think I just needed this day to myself.

The funny thing is, I had to fight guilt for taking this day off.  I wondered, Am I giving in too easily? Or is this truly just a balanced way of living as I suspect.  Little whispers cause me to doubt my commitment level. And yet, after the voices of my conscience arm-wrestled in my head, I still felt good about how I spent today.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Day Six: It is Good.

  1. Today is a good day to balance yourself, because…PEOPLE ARE DEPENDING ON YOU! and to be dependable you MUST rejuvenate…recharge and do so without any guilt. Because…. to truly recharge it must be a body, mind and spirit of recharge…that can only come with guilt free rest. So! It is your RESPONSIBILITY to rest without guilt and empty your mind and know that soon (the next day or five hours from now) you will up and about swinging about hugs and kisses and making grilled cheese or delegating.

    Love,
    dad

Leave a Reply

