Completion

Tomorrow evening I have to get up in front of my peers and give a 20 minute memorized presentation.  I am not looking forward to it. Nor am I looking forward to the micro.bio. exam on Friday for which I am ill-prepared.

That said,  I am looking forward to the end of the semester, which will be so much closer after Friday is over.  Mostly, I am looking forward to seeing my husband again.  Between both of us taking classes, our church commitments and his work, I am dying to just get away with him for a day to reconnect.

Tackling Blogrimage Goals:

1) Today I did 50 (edit that. I did 100)  jumping jacks. My kids thought I was nuts.  Trying to make dinner while  jumping (jack-style) can be entertaining I suppose.  But since I was so hasty in cramming them in (without stretching) I got an awful cramp in my pectoral muscles later.  That’ll learn me.  

2) I have been good at making my phone calls – spoke to a couple of people yesterday, and my dad today.   My problem is, I want to speak more often to some of my family/friends that I don’t see regularly.  When I only call one person a day, (and some people, like my parents, I want to talk to a couple of times a week)  I’ve realized that I may only get to talk to some people once a month (or less!)  and I don’t like that.  So maybe for the remainder of the blogrimage I will call two people a day…

~

And now a beautiful and well-known passage, put into slightly different words to combat the familiarity:

1 Corinthians: If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don’t love, I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate . . . If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.  Love never gives up. Love cares more for others than for self. Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have. Love doesn’t strut, Doesn’t have a swelled head, Doesn’t force itself on others, Isn’t always “me first,” Doesn’t fly off the handle, Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others, Doesn’t revel when others grovel, Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth, Puts up with anything, Trusts God always, Always looks for the best, Never looks back, But keeps going to the end. Love never dies. Inspired speech will be over some day; praying in tongues will end; understanding will reach its limit. We know only a portion of the truth, and what we say about God is always incomplete. But when the Complete arrives, our incompletes will be canceled.”

Looking forward to that day of cancellations.

One thought on “Completion

Leave a Reply

