As I Was Saying…

As I was saying over there on that overcrowded friendship networking site…
My name is Amy E. I am a commit-a-holic.
I am over-committed and still wanting to commit more.
There is just so much I want to do.
So many people to meet.
But all those people will only be let down if I trip while I’m juggling all of this.
I was supposed to have something done for someone by tomorrow, and I don’t think it’s going to happen.  And I am kicking myself for saying YES in the first place.  I knew there were family health issues right now, and I knew that I had a HUGE test to study for, but this other “opportunity” sounded like something I would enjoy,  so I volunteered.   But the fun thing I thought I would enjoy doing for a friend has been put on the back burner all weekend as other duties shoved their way to the front of the line.
I want to invest myself in things I love, the things I feel I was created for: Playing with my kids. Loving my husband.  Sharpening others and being sharpened.  Building relationships.  Being creative. Laughing.  Learning to sew and garden … etc.
But I find so much else that gets in the way and I’m frustrated.  Studying. Cleaning. Homework (mine and the kids. I don’t believe in homework.  If my kids have to sit in school from 9-4, they should not have more than ten minutes homework at night. Which brings me to another thing I would love  to do again – home school.  BUT the thing I have to do right now [my schooling] is in the way of that dream. SO that dream is put on hold for a few years.)
Also, while I’m on the subject,  lets talk PTA. I’ve never been able to be part of the PTA – my school schedule or Andrew’s work schedule has always prevented it.  This year is the exception, and I was very excited to go to my first PTA meeting recently. I was excited because I want to be involved with my children’s school, I want to know what’s happening, and if I can, help it to be better.  Also, I would love to get to know some of the other mother’s better, and what better way to do that than working together?
I sat in that room and looked at all those wonderful women, who reminded me what I must look like at a Youth Ministry meeting.  Stacks of papers in front of them, and hours of work ahead of them in their designated areas.  Some of them were wearing several proverbial hats, and are so much more involved with the school activities than I am.  There was a moment at that meeting, when I looked around and realized that while I can attend meetings, and maybe help at a few events, I would go insane if I had to add a major PTA hat to my already burdened (imaginary) hat-rack.
And so here I am blogging. I should be sleeping. But maybe I’ll just try to work a little bit on that special project for a friend before I turn in.
~ Amy
(I’ve also realized that I enjoy my blog because it is therapeutic for me to write, and not because of the comments.  I hope you don’t mind that I’m not taking comments at this time…)
