Not By Might…

I need to say:  I am awesomely blessed.  Please friend, don’t read those words lightly – I am not by any means prone to optimism or gratitude.  No, for me complaining and ‘realism’ are reoccurring battles.   Yet here I am feeling overwhelmed by the goodness of our Father.  I am married to a marvelous man, we have two scrumptuous kids, food in our fridge (and ice cream in my bowl at present) and now a puppy.   (Our new addition, in case you are wondering, is at different times amusing, frustrating, easily excited, and down-right lovable. )

I am so blessed.  God has totally been pouring His extravagant love on me through friends.  It is only Wednesday and already this week I have been encouraged and challenged through face-to-face time with five amazing women –  dreamers and shakers – each of them uniquely beautiful in how their lives reflect Jesus.   All this meeting and talking is not my norm, but I wouldn’t mind one bit if it became just that.  How rich life feels when shared!

I have said in the past that there are dreams that I hold so dear that I rarely speak of them. Well, I have been voicing them more lately . . . those hopes and goals . . . and even as words have left my mouth I hear the verse, ‘Not by might, not by power, but by my spirit.”  . . .  Yes!  I keep meditating on that verse . . . .  May God’s righteous will prevail – and may I ever be in that will . . . and keep my little opinions to myself.   Movements that are God-breathed happen almost on their own, and simply require willing participants who are seeking His face – not pushy people trying to make something happen.

So in the end I pray, “Lord, Thy will be done – show me the next step, and please give me the strength to follow.”

2 thoughts on “Not By Might…

  1. Amen!

    Love it! God is good. I’m encouraged to read this, Aim! And this…so true:
    ” Movements that are God-breathed happen almost on their own, and simply require willing participants who are seeking His face”

    xo

Leave a Reply

