What Will They Think?

I am in that scary toes-hanging-over-the-edge kinda place.

He told me to listen. My One word for the year from God was ‘listen’.

There is a particular issue I have been avoiding asking His input on, simply because I don’t really want to hear the answer.  I say I want His will, but there can be times when I just want him to stay out of it, so I can save face.  What if he asks me to do something that makes no sense to everyone around me – something that in the opinion of others is just plain unwise?  I wish I could say I really didn’t care what people think of me, but the truth is I do – sometimes even more than what God thinks of me.  (That reads as bad to me as it does to you.)   Can I be strong enough to boldly follow His direction no matter what?  If those around me, even those I love, are shaking their heads at me and whispering behind my back, can I bear it?

The truth is, the Lord is telling me to be strong and courageous.  Courage in the face of the unknown is made easier when you know your Creator is on your side. The Lord tells me that because I am earnestly seeking him,  He will work things out for my good, and that He has good plans for me. Weighing my heart, my first responsibility is to my Savior – to love and obey him,  then to my husband, and to my children.  In the end, I am not responsible for others who may judge me from the sidelines.

For truly, if I only follow Christ when it is comfortable, am I really following Him at all?

To be continued.

3 thoughts on “What Will They Think?

  1. Pingback: Needful Things « Sweet Abandon

Leave a Reply

