Pushing

This week has been a blur of preparations of my home and heart.

I’m hoping for good things for this weekend – a time to focus outward. A chance to listen and allow myself to dream.

My spirit is stirred up.  I feel something coming.  Still.  I know you might be tired of me saying so.  But I can’t ignore this tugging in my heart.  So I press on and push forward, enjoying this journey toward the unknown – for enjoying the journey is truly as important as reaching the destination.

The phrase “pushing forward” jumped out to Andrew and I last night.  It was one of  those moments of prayer when you hear something that just grabs your heart – and you just know that the Creator is speaking to you . . . .  We feel like we are in a time of pushing forward – throwing off the doubts and fears that may jump at us.

As we push forward,

We will bravely wade through rough waters of opposition.

We will cherish running through warm meadows of Grace.

We will persevere while climbing mountains of “impossibilities.”

We will savor swimming in the deep ocean of His love.

We will take hold of his garment when darkness threatens to conceal our path.

But always – whether marching, swimming, climbing, running or straining – always it will be straight ahead.

My blinders are on – keeping me focused on the prize.

Philippians 3:12 Not that I have already attained, or am already perfected; but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me. 13 Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, 14 I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

Let us not get so distracted by everyday living that we lose purpose.  It is too easy to let our daily obligations consume our lives.  Too easy to forget that there is something for which we should be pushing forward.

We were designed for more than just survival.

2 thoughts on “Pushing

Leave a Reply

