Pushing Too Hard

Last time, I shared with you my felt need to push.

Today I am thinking about what it means to push too hard.

This weekend, in an urban garage dedicated to prayer, we found this piano - a vision of simplicity - a well-loved and somewhat worn instrument... kinda like me 😉

I sometimes find myself caught up in running with not only my plans but the plans of others –  pouring out sweat and tears (in vain) in order to perfect them.  Enough of that already. It’s time to refocus. I want to be caught up with His plan.  His plan that’s all about love and our hearts.  Not perfection or production.

Works of God cannot be strong armed — I tell myself this over and over.  Yet I find myself trying to tell God what should happen next.   “Okay Lord, now let’s ___.”     I’m creating a future in my head without slowing down to ask God what His plan is in all this.

The beauty of a God-laid plan is that it always comes together in such a way that God receives glory.  When His plans are carried out, they loudly proclaim of His truth and goodness.   They don’t exalt any man. or woman.

Today is about patience. Today is about being self-controlled under Gods-control.

Today is about bigger isn’t always better.  Today is about simple.

Today is about silence. and listening. and waiting with patience.

Today is about being diligent right where I am at for as long as I need to be.

Today is simply not all about me.

Proverbs 19:21 There are many plans in a man’s heart, Nevertheless the LORD’s counsel—that will stand.

PS. I had a truly great weekend – and I could not ignore the weight of God’s glory.  He is up to marvelous plans!

One thought on “Pushing Too Hard

Leave a Reply

