Blogrimage Blast-Off!

This is it – Day One of Blogrimage 2011…. Are you as excited as I am? 😉  

I can’t wait to read about the adventures of my fellow blogrimagers. (eh-hem. that would be YOU. start blogging already; the day’s half gone!)  Hmm, blogrimagers doesn’t sound right.  I guess we would be Blogrims, like pilgrims….

After much consideration, and the always evil comparing of my own ideas to the ideas of others, I decided that for the next 30 days I will be sharing with you the ins and outs of my recent transition into being wheat and dairy free.

Before we go further, there is something you must know about me.  I have long struggled in a love affair with food.  In high school I was the binge and purge girl – minus the purging (cuz I just can’t stand throwing up.)  But the bingeing thing – yeah I really got into that.  I have always mostly eaten as much of anything that I wanted.  Giant milkshakes, double quarter pounder with cheese, deep dish pizza… mmmm. Yikes, where was I before I had to wipe the drool off the keyboard?  Yeah, so I have a problem with loving food and not caring much about the health consequences.

Thickening the plot now, I’ve spent most of my adult life – and probably my forgotten childhood – just not feeling well.  I’m often very tired, have frequent stomach aches and the dreaded…persistent acne.   I’ve always thought it could be food related; there are certainly people with food allergies in my extended family. I kept shoving that thought back though, trying not to think about it.  My love of food was too strong.

The thing is, I will be thirty in a couple of months and I’m tired of being tired all the time.  Giving up my beloved night-time bowl of chocolate ice cream in exchange for better health is finally sounding like a decent trade.

It was a decision I have been putting off for YEARS.  I did some research and have decided that giving up wheat and dairy is where I will start. Eventually (It would be great if I can do it during the blogrimage) I want to visit an allergist and get tested.

I have been wheat and dairy free for exactly one week now (except when I accidentally ate some toast this weekend… I think I was too tired to remember that I was not supposed to eat bread. oops.)  Already, I feel amazing.  I have more energy, no stomach pain and my skin is clearing up.

I am giving up milk, cheese, ice cream, and all wheat products. I have to research a bit more to decide if I will go all the way and be gluten-free or just stick with wheat-free. I am still occasionally going to eat yogurt for now because it has those great enzymes which make it more digestible to me.  I had a lot of fun today shopping for gluten-free & dairy-free products…. I’ll tell you more about that tomorrow.

This is where we start…stay tuned and join in!

For my gluten-free breakfast this morning, I had to cook my eggs more firmly than normal because, alas, there is no toast to sop up all the gooey goodness of a runny yolk.

9 thoughts on “Blogrimage Blast-Off!

      • I can relate! However, if I’m only giving up wheat, and not gluten, I could eat any rice, corn or oat cereal – which leaves tons of options.

        And for pouring over that cereal? My favorite is soy milk. But there’s also rice milk, almond milk and coconut milk… all very good. 🙂 But hey, all this is supposed to be tomorrow’s post!

  1. I always admire people that choose to invest in the food they eat because they know that in the long run it is going to give them a better life, when we are surrounded by (and often have indulged in) the gratuitous culture of fast/junk food that is around us.
    Props to you! Looking forward to reading what you have to share 🙂

  2. Pingback: Hominy Hominy Hominy | Sweet Abandon

  3. Pingback: Living Simply. Blogrimage 2012. Day 1 | Sweet Abandon

Leave a Reply

