Wheat and Gluten Intolerance Symptoms (day seven)

Today I want to focus a bit on why I’m suspecting a wheat allergy:

Symptoms of a wheat allergy or wheat intolerance (not exhaustive by any means):

  • Arthritis
  • Bloated stomach
  • Chest pains
  • Depression or mood swings
  • Diarrhea
  • Eczema
  • Feeling dizzy or faint
  • Joint and muscle aches and pains
  • Nausea or vomiting
  • Palpitations
  • Psoriasis
  • Skin rashes
  • Sneezing
  • Suspected IBS/similar effects
  • Swollen throat or tongue
  • Tiredness and lethargy
  • Unexplained cough
  • Unexplained runny nose
  • Watery or itchy eyes

Of these I have experienced at least 8 fairly consistently.  I have decided that I am eliminating wheat for at least 40 days.  There are several allergists close by my house – so if any of you want to contribute to the Get Amy Allergy Tested fund – let me know. 😛  I’ve heard that if you have a wheat intolerance, there is a very slight chance that if you completely eliminate wheat for a period, it may be reintroduced without problem later…. hmmm.

Gluten intolerance appears to be much more difficult to diagnose than a wheat allergy. However, I am not thinking I am all-out gluten intolerant, as I only had a handful of these symptoms:

bloating, gas, abdominal pain * diarrhea or constipation * itchy skin rash * discolored teeth or loss of enamel * joint pain * significant unexplained weight loss * delayed growth * fractures or thin bones * bulky loose stools * fatigue * tingling or numbness in hands and feet * canker sores * irritability * poor weight gain * missed menstrual periods * iron deificiency * depression * type 1 diabetes * Sjogren’s disease * IBS * Peripheral Neuropathy * Turner Syndrome * Dermatitis herpetiforms * infertility * osteoperosis * thyroid disease * juvenile idiopathic arthritis * intestinal cancer * Down Syndrome * Williams syndrome.

I felt good today. I didn’t even think to include how my joints were feeling in all this because I didn’t realize my joint pain COULD be related.  But… I had no knee pain today.  Also, I haven’t had any stomach cramps in over a week.  I need to experiment a bit more to see if removing wheat will prevent my eczema from returning – I’m currently controlling that through other methods.
Today’s menu:
Breakfast: granola, almond milk, banana – chai
Lunch: brown rice, tofu, carrots/mushrooms/broccoli/onion/red-pepper
Dinner: Rice noodles, chicken, veggies all sautéed together in a peanuty sauce…  chai
One thought on “Wheat and Gluten Intolerance Symptoms (day seven)

  1. Pingback: Final Thoughts on the Final Day. | Sweet Abandon

Leave a Reply

