Dairy Allergy Symptoms (day 8)

A brief overview of Dairy Allergy

The allergen responsible for many dairy allergy symptoms is the Casein protein – found in high amounts in cow’s milk and cheese. Sometimes casein is added to other non-dairy foods as an emulsifier.  Which means reading labels is a must.  Dairy allergy is different from lactose intolerance. Technically, almost everyone is lactose intolerant – lacking the enzymes necessary to fully metabolize milk.

symptoms of a dairy allergy: (my symptoms in bold)
The most frequent place where dairy allergy symptoms are noticed is the skin. Itchiness, rashes, redness, irritation, hives, burning of the skin, hot red patches after scratching, eczema, acne, swelling (esp. of the lips, mouth, tongue), dark undereyes. The digestive symptoms include abdominal bloating, burning and swelling of the throat, cramps in the abdomen, vomiting, diarrhea, nausea, acid reflux, and so on. Respiratory tract symptoms are persistent coughing, runny nose, sneezing, itchy eyes, tearing or watering of the eyes, wheezing, difficulty in breathing, nasal congestion, short breaths, and at the end may even result in anaphylactic shocks.  Also red ear lobes, glazed eyes, bed-wetting, and lethargy. I also read it can cause cause confusion and poor brain function.  Hah! that’s me! :p

Some of these symptoms seem to overlap with the wheat allergy symptoms.  So I really can’t go on symptom alone.  Eventually I will have to reintroduce one food (maybe starting with dairy) for one day, and then take three days or so and monitor how I feel.  The Milk allergy can sometimes take days to show up.   I have noticed that I am still sneezing as much as before – but I am pretty sure that’s just my seasonal and dust allergies.  I will be paying attention to my breathing – although I have done a bit of running/walking with my dog this week without feeling like I needed my inhaler.

Okay…. so far so good.  One week of blogrimage down. Three to go.

 

5 thoughts on “Dairy Allergy Symptoms (day 8)

  1. Wow Amy, I commend you for taking such an active roll in your health. I don’t know anyone who would devote so much time and energy to researching as you have done! No one knows your body like you do and this blogrimmage may take you longer than 3 more days to get your answer; but knowing you, you will continue this until you’ve got the answers you were looking for. A+ Aimes Love, Mom

  2. Pingback: Final Thoughts on the Final Day. | Sweet Abandon

Leave a Reply

