The Maker’s Diet (Blogrimage Day 23)

First, I’d like to say that I do not enjoy posting everyday – I’ve barely soaked in the last post and here I am again, asked to spill out some words. For only this reason, I will be glad when the blogrimage is over and I can resume my once or twice a week posting.

I have been reading and reading and reading some more.  My dear cousin Nyama gave me a very cool (un)cookbook – centered on a raw diet. She had remembered that I mentioned I like to eat raw once a week.   It’s been a fun read – with beautiful pictures (my favorite part of any cookbook) and really interesting ideas and combinations I would not have come up with on my own.  I am halfway through with this book.

I am also halfway through “The Maker’s Diet.” Have you read it?  My dad lent it to me last week.  Honestly my gut reaction was that I didn’t think I’d like it.  And I have found there are some things in the book that I don’t foresee myself delving into… (like dunking my head under water twice a day to gently cleanse my eyes and nose.)  But it’s a diet based completely on the dietary guidelines of the Bible.  Before you roll your eyes like you may be tempted to… it is actually turning out to be one of the smartest things I’ve come across in my search for a healthy way of eating. The author of the book is an M.D. who had a horrible case of Crohn’s disease and was near death when he decided to try some radical changes that line up with God’s Word.  The result is that he had been completely healed of Crohn’s.  Again, I’m still only halfway through but I have read through the science of why it works and many amazing testimonials.  It’s really about eating healthy – not gimmicky, with a focus on organic, whole and living foods, raw dairy etc…  The more I read, the more I think that perhaps this diet could help me just as much or more than a GFCF diet.  I know y’all think I’m nuts and/or diet-happy, but please bear with me – I’m just trying to get healthy!

breakfast: banana, wheat-free waffles.  almond milk.

lunch: some of everything: mango, carrots, cantaloupe, avocado, hummus and corn chips.  ginger-pear white tea.

dinner: grass-fed organic hamburgers (without a bun) but with all the fixings you could want – mushroom, avocado, tomato, sautéed onion and some mayo 😉   and on the side? root vegetable potato chips.  almond milk.

2 thoughts on “The Maker’s Diet (Blogrimage Day 23)

  1. just finally caught up on some of your health and diet-change journey. wow. it’s crazy to hear how many unsuspecting things have wheat in them… like taco seasoning?! whuddathunk.

    i was hoping to feel significantly better after 3 weeks gluten-free. i know i need to add dairy in next to see how much that helps, but i’ve gotta be honest. that makes me so sad. i love me some cheese. hmph.

    we’ll see…

Leave a Reply

