communion wafers and brussels sprouts.

Blogrimage. Day 25.

Photo credit: Sage Mountain Farm

I’ve been craving brussels sprouts recently, so I am roasting some for a snack.   I think it’s better than craving ice cream – but try telling my family that! When I brought home brussels sprouts I got some serious whines and looks of disgust.  Brussels sprouts have a funny name, and have a bad reputation from improper cooking. I don’t think my kids have ever had them – so they’re at least going to have one “no thank you” bite.

Funny story I forgot to share earlier:

I have found myself more conscious of what I put in my mouth – super vigilant even. Milk and gluten are slipped into so many foods that I cant help but question every food I come across these days.  This is definitely a new habit for me; I am used to eating whatever I want or whatever is convenient.  I didn’t realize how ingrained this new habit was for me though, until it was time for communion at church.  As I grabbed one of those weird little wafer thingies from the passing tray, my first thought was “I wonder if these are gluten-free?” I honestly had a hard time putting it to my mouth without knowing for sure what was in it. After looking into it, I am pretty sure they are straight-up wheat flour and water.  Since I am not deathly allergic, it’s not a big deal to me… but it made me pause and think about the difficulty this could present to someone with severe wheat allergies who wanted to participate in communion.  I’ve heard that some churches provide rice crackers, but I’ve also heard some say that only wheat is acceptable.   It’s all very interesting…

breakfast: one egg, half a piece of gluten-free toast with coconut oil spread on top, one orange. chai.

lunch: leftover stir fry. (By the way, my homemade gluten/sugar free stir-fry sauce was pretty good.) Stir fry sauce recipe: 2 Tbsp corn starch, 1 Tbsp stevia in the raw, >1/8 tsp crushed red pepper or cayenne, 1/2 C tamari (gluten-free soy sauce), 2 Tbsp dry sherry, 1 Tbsp rice vinegar, 1 Tbsp sesame oil, 1 Tbsp minced ginger, 2 tsp. minced garlic.

snack: One and a half cups of  roasted brussels sprouts with olive oil, salt, pepper – tossed in white wine vinegar.  African Red Bush tea

dinner plans? possibly tacos.  Old El Paso’s taco seasoning is milk and gluten-free. 🙂

Leave a Reply

