Creaky Knees and Group Hugs. (day 27)

photo courtesy of wallpaperweb.org

must. blog. three. more. days.

I will never be a runner. But a blogger I am. Why push myself to write every single day? Because, this blogrimage –  it’s my marathon.

  • I had an achy knee last night and this morning. I swear it was the change of weather.  I’m going to sound like a major grandma right now, but my left knee is a great prediction for weather change or approaching humidity.  I know that eating right will never make the cartilage grow back.  Barring a miracle, it’s gone.   But I sure would like to keep it from getting worse.  I really don’t want a knee replacement before I’ve even hit my mid-life crisis.  Hopefully eating better will extend the life of this creaky knee.
  • The weather today was amazing.  The wind made me feel like I was by the water.  After a glorious evening with family, my absolutely favorite part of my day was when my son called me outside to watch the sunset with him.  (We dont’ have west-facing windows, so you have to go outside. I’m glad we had to go outside, sunsets are more beautiful with the wind in your face.)  It was a quiet moment of appreciating beauty with my family.  And it ended in a group hug.  Group hugs are the best! Who doesn’t love a good squeeze?
  • In other news, I’m hoping this discipline I’ve found in my diet, and even to blog every day will spill over into other areas of my life that desperately need it.  One thing at a time, I know.  But my next area of discipline will be to reclaim my mornings.  I have not had morning solitude since we got out puppy a couple of months ago.  I have a great list of excuses. 😉
  • Recently watched a movie on Dietrich Bonhoeffer, and the moment when he is saying this prayer to a fellow prisoner left me speechless.
O God, early in the morning I cry to you. Help me to pray and gather my thoughts to you, I cannot do it alone. In me it is dark, but with you there is light; I am lonely, but you do not desert me; My courage fails me, but with you there is help; I am restless, but with you there is peace; in me there is bitterness, but with you there is patience; I do not understand your ways, but you know the way for me. Father in Heaven praise and thanks be to you for the night 
-Dietrich Bonhoeffer,
Leave a Reply

