Final Thoughts on the Final Day.

37 days ago, I drastically changed my diet.  30 days ago I started writing about it as part of a 30 day Blogrimage.

Before this diet change, I would often eat simply for convenience sake, or maybe the deliciousness factor.  If it tasted good -I’d eat it.  I loved cooking rich pastas with cream sauce…. I probably used heavy cream in recipes every week.  And bread was my comfort – buttered bread and rolls, bagels and pastries.

But something changed.  I’m not sure what did it, but I suddenly realized I was tired of feeling so horrible all the time.  Searching the internet one day, I looked for help.  I was mostly hoping for some relief from chronic fatigue and acne. I saw wheat and dairy allergies causing problems all over the place, and I could relate to the issues I was reading about.  I was skeptical, but willing to give it a shot anyhow.  After diving in I found out how my improved diet can help my other issues as well. (See my posts on gluten and dairy allergy symptoms)

What I did: cut out wheat and dairy – eventually cutting out all gluten and casein, and greatly reducing my sugar intake.

What I’m noticing:

  1. Chronic fatigue that has plagued me for years is gone. I feel younger and energetic with clear thinking – even late at night.
  2. My skin is about 75% more clear than before.  I still had a mild break-out half way through the month – hormone related… But it was nowhere near as bad as normal.
  3. I also have not had any eczema problems.
  4. My under-eyes are less dark.
  5. My digestion (eh-hem. regularity) is great.
  6. My breathing (asthma) seems to have improved – although not completely.
  7. I no longer get frequent stomach cramps.

When I accidentally (or purposely) ate dairy or wheat on this diet I felt fuzzy-headed and lethargic, and had stomach cramps and headaches.

Overall I am pleased with this diet and how it is improving my life.  I think it was a good choice for me. Will I miss deep-dish pizza and ice cream? Yes, probably from time to time, I will. Yet I’m noticing that the longer I am without those things, the less I miss them.

I am also learning that it’s okay that I don’t know everything about Gluten-Free/Casein-Free diet yet.  When I go to a restaurant and my mind swirls trying to figure out what might have wheat or dairy hidden in it – knowing the waiter may not even know.   What can I order with perhaps just some adaption? These are things that will come with time.  I’ll get there.

It is not totally easy eating against the flow of mainstream America.  Against my old norm.  It is not at all convenient having a diet different from most people around me.I spend more time thinking about what I will eat and planning menu’s. I think about everything I put into my body these days.  I’m also spending more time preparing my food and more money on better quality foods (organic. whole. grass feed. raw. you name it.)

Will I stick with it? At this present time, I will answer yes to that.  I’m simply feeling to great NOT to stick with it.  I am feeling better about myself in general for being aware of my body’s needs. However, I am remaining open to investigating other opportunities for healthy eating that would also benefit me.

On this busy Wednesday, may I encourage you to do one extra thing today to take care of the body you were given – it just might thank you.

If you followed with me through even part of this journey, thank you.  I appreciate and value your friendship.

Mmm… and dinner tonight?

Spicy Black Bean and Sausage Soup!

1/2 lb cooked turkey sausage, sliced

1 lg onion, coarsely chopped

1 red and 1 green pepper, chopped

3 garlic cloves, minced

1-2 chipotle chilies in adobo sauce – drained and chopped.

2 T ground cumin

2 t. ground corriander

1 t. dried oregano

1/2 tsp each salt and pepper

14 0z can diced tomatoes with green chilies, undrained

2 c  organic, gluten-free chicken broth

2 – 15oz cans black beans.  1 can rinsed. 1 can undrained.

1/2 c corn – frozen or canned.

garnish: fresh cilantro and sliced green onion

1. Heat oil (coconut oil is good) in large pot over med/high heat. Add sausage and brown. Remove sausage and set aside.

2. Add onion, peppers – cook 2-3 minutes until peppers begin to soften. Cover and cook 8-10 minutes more until soft.

3. Add garlic, chipotle chiles, cumin, coriander, oregano, salt and pepper – cook briefly until fragrant.

4. Stir in tomatoes, broth and undrained black beans. Cover. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer 10 minutes.

5. Puree soup in batches in blender. Return soup to pot. Add sausage, rinsed beans and corn. Cook over med heat until thoroughly heated. Serve. Freezes well.

Till next time.

~Amy


6 thoughts on “Final Thoughts on the Final Day.

  1. So good Elizabeth! My mom and a good friend of mine are both allergic to gluten (and one dairy too). It makes such a huge difference for so many people. There is a great cookbook for baking gluten-free that I got my mom from Anthropology. I can’t remember the name of it (sorry!) but she said everything has been amazing. Keep it up!

  2. Amy, you are the poster child of the Blogrimage movement. What an amazing experience! Even if not everyone posts comments, I know of many people who have read your blogs and been greatly influenced by them. In fact, my wife read your posts and thinks I have a wheat allergy now…so thanks for that. Haha, j/k, I’ll really have to look into it after reading the benefits you listed! Actually we went on a diet not too long ago where we cut out meat for 21 days and near the end I totally related to a lot of the things you listed, more energy in particular. Thank you so much for being so faithful to your blogrimage, and for getting so involved with other peoples blogs as well! I frequently will read others blogs and see a post from you on them. Well done! Can’t wait for next year!

    • Ha! I don’t think I’ve ever been called a poster child for anything before. Thank you, Joe.

      But seriously. Thank you for your words – it’s truly humbling to know people actually read what I write. And it always amazes me how God weaves together lives and story to encourage His children.

      Meatless for 21 days? Wow.. that’s serious. If I gave up meat, I’d have to take pizza back. I’m curious about why you didn’t stay meatless….

      And…sorry about causing the whole wheat allergy suspicion thing…. Hopefully with the blogrimage over all of that will die down and be forgotten about 😉

Leave a Reply

