Whatcha Readin’?

So I’m juggling one too many books right now, and trying to be better about just blasting through them one at a time.  Now just to determine which book to read first.  Here’s what I’m working with:

Just finished:

Raw Food, Real World

The Maker’s Diet

Still reading:

1. Be Angry But Don’t Blow It by Lisa Bevere... This has been an important re-read since the addition of our newest, furriest and most frustrating family member. (Our Dog)

2. Any Child Can Write by H. Wiener – 1/5 finished with this one. Picked this book up at a homeschool used book sale.  Hoping it will help me inspire Blake to at least not HATE writing.  So far it seems geared toward younger kids though…

3. My Antonia by Willa Cather – Such a lovely read.  I’ve read bits and pieces of this at different times, but never straight through.   I pulled it off my shelf recently with the determination to finally read it cover to cover.

4. Getting to Calm: Cool headed strategies for parenting tweens and teens by Kastner and Wyatt –  I read the main part last summer, but the last half is more practical application – example scenario’s…. It’s really good stuff. Must. Finish. (Before Blake moves out!)

5. The Man Who Created Narnia the story of C.S. Lewis  by Coren.  Blake read this for a school project, and I’m a quarter of the way into it… Love me a good biography.

6. Little Pilgrims’ Progress … Reading with the shorties. Christian has just made it to the Celestial city… Now onto Part Two and Christiana’s journey.

Waiting patiently on my shelf:

1. Organic Church: Growing Faith Where Life Happens by N. Cole

2. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society… Last summer’s impulse buy from Barnes and Noble.  A retail therapy purchase that I now have to read out of sheer guilt for spending un-budgeted money on a silly book.

3. Missionary Methods. St. Paul’s or Ours? by Roland Allen

and…

In no particular order, here are the books I’ve been wanting to read but must first find, borrow or purchase:

1. Must add to my library next:  Common Prayer.  A Liturgy for Ordinary Radicals by S.Claiborne.

2. Because it fascinates me:  Where There Is No Doctor by D.Werner

3. One of the bazillion Elisabeth Elliot books I’ve been meaning to get to:  Let Me Be A Woman

4. Because Bonhoeffer is everywhere I look these days… I can’t wait to read this: The Cost of Discipleship by Dietrich Bonhoeffer.

5. Another one I’ve been meaning to get to: Crazy Love by Francis Chan  and then I want to follow it up with Chan’s other book… Forgotten God

6. Half the Church: Recapturing God’s Global Vision for Women by Carolyn James.   Came highly recommended and covers a topic that highly interests me: Where do I, a woman, fit in the church?

7. Cooking for Isaiah: Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free Recipe by Nardone  – because I want to eat yummy things!

8. Saint Francis of Assisi by Chesterson.  Bought this as a gift for someone a while back and started reading it before I gave it away… It was so good! Must get another copy and finish it… or just borrow it from that person I gave it to…. 😉

9. Bird By Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life by Anne Lammot.  Lammot is on my list of favorite authors.  Would love to read this book.  another highly recommended book.

10. A Million Miles in a thousand Years: How I Learned to Live a Better Story by Donald Miller – Because it’s Don Miller.  Not only is he on my list of favorite authors, he’s near the top.

So…what are you reading these days?

What books have rocked your world lately?

Please share. Not because I’m desperate for a book (obviously I’m set for a couple of months at least)  but because knowing what you like to read helps me know you a little better.

~Amy

2 thoughts on “Whatcha Readin’?

  1. Sweet joy. How I love me some books.
    -rubs hands together-

    Let’s see. I’ve been working on reading “Radical: Taking Your Faith Back From the American Dream” by David Platt and “Don’t Waste Your Life” by John Piper. As much as I love theology, sometimes I can’t read it during the semester. I may finally finish them this summer.

    My to read list:
    “Hard Times Call For Furious Dancing” which is a book of poetry by Alice Walker…mainly because I just love dancing. The “The Problem of Pain” by C. S. Lewis has been in the back of my mind for the past month.

    PS- You can borrow 5, 9, & 10 from me when you’re ready.

    • Yay for book lists!
      Oooh – I can’t wait to borrow 5 from you…. something tells me though that I might want to by my own copy of 9 and 10 🙂
      Also: the furious dancing book? sounds amazing.
      Problem of pain: Ah! That is another book I’ve always seen but has never taken priority… I’d love to hear your thoughts on it. Pastor Mike preached a message today that addressed this issue.

Leave a Reply

