Freedom in Forgiveness

From Nehemiah 9:17  “. . . But you are a forgiving God, gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and abounding in love. Therefore you did not desert them . . . “

In the middle of my testimony, right as I had fallen to my deepest low, I found myself grasping for any truth I could find.  I searched out matters that were too-long hidden, trying to pin down the source of my pain.   The things I learned would at first hurt even more than the pain I was looking to escape from – but it was so good for me.  It gave way to the breakthrough I needed in order to heal.  I was able to once and for all fully forgive others whose choices had affected my life.  And with that forgiveness I experienced freedom unlike I had ever known. Feeling free didn’t happen overnight. I had to sort things out. Scream a little. Cry a little. I had to get on my knees and wage battle in the heavenly realms. But it came . . . eventually it came.

I cannot tell you enough how forgiveness has changed my life.  I am happy – deep down happy.  Can I tell you how strange that is for me?  I had spent most of my life miserable and distraught, and today I am happy.  I have a deep down peace  – and I know it is because I have finally broken through some major barriers that I once didn’t even know existed.

May I always be searching my heart, looking for those I need to forgive.  I like this freedom thing too much not to.

~

  • Micah 7:18-19 “Lord, who is a God like you? You forgive sin. You forgive your people when they do what is wrong. You don’t stay angry forever. Instead, you take delight in showing your faithful love to them. Once again you will show loving concern for us. You will completely wipe out the evil things we’ve done. You will throw all of our sins into the bottom of the sea.”    ~ Striving to be like my Lord, I want to forgive, and not stay angry. 
  • Ephesians 4:32 “Be kind and tender to one another. Forgive each other, just as God forgave you because of what Christ has done.”   ~My sins have been forgiven, why then should I not grant forgiveness to others?
  • Romans 4:7-8  “Blessed are those whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered. Blessed is the one whose sin the Lord will never count against them.”   ~She who has been forgiven of much, loves much! Amen. I am blessed. 
2 thoughts on “Freedom in Forgiveness

  1. mmmm what a bittersweet ministry and message. Thank you for sharing your heart, your struggle and your SUCCESS!

    as ever,
    your sister/friend,
    erna

    ps – would love to share a cup of tea and some conversation with you. perhaps we should get the three amigas together some time soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

