Five Minute Friday: New

I’ve been wanting to try something for a while now, and tonight is the perfect night to do it, because my kids are at VBS and my husband is off being volunteer-y.  I’m a slight stalker at a blog called the gypsy mama, and I love what she does on Friday’s… Only I don’t usually get around to checking her blog until Saturday, and by then it’s too late.  But here’s the scoop – every Friday she writes for five minutes, unedited. Whatever is typed is typed. Just writing for the joy of writing. For the practice.  And maybe to help some of us remember that we are not perfect, and that is okay.

I over think most things, and I at least occasionally battle perfectionism – so this should be a good stretch for me.  It may also help me to learn how to type. Oy. If I had a penny for every typo I make in a day…

The rules:

1.write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.

2. link back to the gypsy mama and invite others to join in.

3. get a little crazy with encouragement for the five minuter who linked up before you.

 

The prompt this week:

New . . .

 

 

I am not sure I can do this today.

My heart is heavy and sad.  For a marraige that is not finding newness like mine did.

It’s hard for me to type when I am grieving.  it’s weird for me to grieve over someone else’s marriage so much.  I haven’t grieved over a failed marriage this much since my parent’s divorce.  But this one is rocking me to the core. I don’t understand it, and I can’t condone it. I am frustrated.

Don’t you remmber dear one, how it felt to be made NEW in Christ? You were a new creation. A beautiful shining creature.  Don’t you remember how it felt to be a NEW bride? A NEW mother?  In hard times like this, you can’t throw those memories away. You have to hold onto them, and fight.  Fight with all you’ve got and then some.  I know. I’ve been there.

There is hope. There is a newness that can be yours.  I promise.  When my marriage was in shambles and it seemed to be over… I wouldn’t have believed it could get better… but today, I am a new wife to a new husband. Though we’ve been married almost 12 years, the past few years have felt entirely new – and wonderful – and beautiful.  Dont give up!  please.  The path you are choosing will not bring you the satisfaction you are looking for – but only pain.  Be made new in Christ. today. For your sake. For your children’s sake.

<stop.>

For M.

~Amy

7 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: New

  1. this was a hard post… I didn’t know what I was going to write about until I started writing, and then my guts just all spilled out… That’s the scary thing about unedited work.

    Five minutes was just about right. Knowing that I wouldn’t be writing for an hour made sitting down to blog much more appealing… I hope I do this more often.

    • Thank you for reading, Charissa, and for your kind words. Truly, clouded vision keeps many people from seeing the possibility of newness right where they are. “New” doesn’t have to be found outside the marriage.

  2. hard words but also filled with hope. it’s so hard to see the light when we are walking in the darkness, isn’t it? your friend is fortunate to have you in her life, praying.
    your testimony is powerful, and i pray you will continue to be a witness in this couple’s life.
    thanks for sharing.
    steph

    • Hard words for sure. These hard words probably could have used a good helping of Grace… Thank you for your prayer, and for reading. I pray my friend will know that my words here are because I love her….

Leave a Reply

