Mere Christianity: When Christians Disagree

This spring I will be dissecting C.S. LewisMere Christianity a piece at a time.  (Yes, I am calling it spring already.  And no, I wont post all my thoughts about this great book here, but some of them will surely pop up from time to time.)

From the preface, concerning disputes between Christians over doctrine and theology:

“And secondly, I think we must admit that the discussion of these disputed points has no tendency at all to bring an outsider into the Christian fold. So long as we write and talk about them we are much more likely to deter him from entering any Christian communion than to draw him into our own. Our divisions should never be discussed except in the presence of those who have already come to believe that there is one God and the Jesus Christ is His only Son. “

Which leads me to think that especially in public, and on Twitter and Facebook,  Christians holding different opinions, or from different denominations, should not be divisive with one another, but instead focus on what we have in common: a common Savior.

I’ll wrap this up with another quote of Lewis from the preface:

“There are some questions to which I may never know the answer: if I asked them, even in a better world, I might (for all I know) be answered as a far greater question was answered: “What is it to thee? Follow thou Me.””

And that’s exactly what I intend to do.  Follow Christ.  I know in my heart what I believe, and I am simply glad to know my friends who have also chosen to believe in Christ alone for their salvation.  I am choosing to not enter into debate.  When people try to prove their side is best, nothing is solved and people are pushed apart.  My aim is to be united with my fellow believers on the points we have in common, to show the world that there is a beautiful bond formed between brothers and sisters in Christ and that something as trivial as human opinion cannot bring down Truth and Love.

.

One thought on “Mere Christianity: When Christians Disagree

  1. Pingback: Christianity « Rubber Tyres –> Smooth Rides

Leave a Reply

