Getting Ready for the Big Trip!

Dear Friends and Family,

This past year has been one of exciting changes for our family as we have begun homeschooling and my husband and I are now both involved with our church’s college ministry.  Andrew and I together feel a call to be used by God to bind up the brokenhearted and to make disciples, here at home and in the world.  My heart is so stirred towards action that it is impossible to ignore.  With this foremost in my mind, I could not turn down the opportunity to join my church in their upcoming mission to Nicaragua, Central America.  I’m thrilled to be part of a team that will be based in the city of Leon, seeking to serve the local people and share the good news of Christ’s salvation.

For this trip, I will be helping to lead a group of teenagers and young adults from June 18th through July 1st, working with a fantastic organization called Global Infusion.  We will be sharing the truth of the Gospel with those who desperately need it – rolling up our sleeves to work and opening up our hearts to love.  I will truly covet your prayers during this trip. The persistent prayers of the saints make all the difference for a successful trip. Please also pray for Andrew and our kids as they stay home.

When I think of how much my trips to Botswana and India cost back in the 1990’s, this trip seems so affordable!  I am working on faithfully setting aside money from our family’s budget to go towards the trip. Also, our group is holding several fundraisers to help cover part of the cost of the trip.  We’re doing bottle drives, a silent auction and an advertisement-sponsored car wash to help everyone in our team meet the monthly financial deadlines and cover the $2,225 cost of the trip.  I know some people like to donate to this sort of cause, so if you are one of those people, I wanted to give you that opportunity.  Feel free to use the pay pal button at the bottom of this post, or you may make a tax-deductible donation to me by making a check out to Woodlawn Church and sending it to our P.O. Box  (P.O Box 777,  Royal Oak, Michigan 48068.) Otherwise, even simply sending your prayers would be much appreciated! I have full confidence that God will supply the funds for this trip through His own means. I enjoy simply sharing my excitement with you.

Thanks so much for your support and friendship. I value you and I appreciate you making the time to read this.  I can’t wait to share the highlights of my trip with you when I get home!  Hope to hear from you soon about all that’s going on in YOUR lives!

Answering the Call,

Amy Ellison

“Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, ‘Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?’ And I said, ‘Here am I. Send me!'” – Isaiah 6:8

"And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, 'All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth.Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.' Amen."  - Matthew 28: 18-20


3 thoughts on “Getting Ready for the Big Trip!

  1. Pingback: Living Simply. Blogrimage 2012. Day 1 | Sweet Abandon

  2. Pingback: Trip Tracker. | Sweet Abandon

  3. Pingback: Blogrimage Day 30 | Sweet Abandon

Leave a Reply

