Trading It All For Freedom

It’s been five days since I’ve had a cup o’ joe.  Oh, I feel so wonderful!

I’ve been in this place before, wondering why it took me so long to get off of the caffeine rollercoaster.

Coffee also happens to be the biggest place I use sweetener (whether it’s sugar, agave, or stevia.) So I am glad to be using less of all that too.

Now, being free from those things is one thing, but God is working a much bigger freedom in my heart lately.  And if I think being free from coffee is grand, imagine my bliss at being free from strings that attempt to bind my very heart and soul.

A friend shared a word recently that was very helpful for me.  This friend saw me, and Andrew I think, as parade balloons, with a specific something holding us down . . . and we needed to cut those strings to be released to float higher. Andrew and I immediately recognized this hindrance.

Hebrews 12:1-3 says:

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses [those being the Fathers of Faith: Noah, Abraham, Jacob, Moses etc.], let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfector of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.  Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

I must say, that I have recently found myself weary and losing heart…. how perfect is my Father’s timing in sending this word to me!

Our hindrances may not appear to be sinful, but anything that keeps my eyes off Jesus can be thrown in the sin category.  Our hindrances may seem impossible, but all things are possible for those who love God and are called according to his purpose.  It can be fear, pride, or a need for control that holds us down. Whatever the case, hindrances need to be recognized and abandoned.

So I throw off that which hinders, releasing it to God’s hands.  Giving up my own stubborn and imperfect will, I choose His will.   I will set my face toward the joy set before me, toward the promises I hold dear. Looking neither to the left nor right, I set my eyes firmly on the path marked out for us.  

I Am Being Set Free.

I’ll leave you with some lyrics from a way old (dare I say classic) christian reggae band, Christafari.  Don’t judge.  😛

Pick me up and dust me off I need your help,
I pray lead me not into temptation and then I lead in myself.
I try to deny, I just want to justify,
But I cannot run and hide from the truth that’s inside.
I must face the convictions at war within me,
So I Make the confession down on my knee.
I can do all things through Him who strengthens me,
It is through Jesus Christ I receive victory.

Set me free, hear me crying for freedom.
Set me free, hear me crying for freedom.

I am falling, falling, falling. Lord hear me calling, calling, calling.
I am descending and it seems never-ending.

No chains are on my feet, and now I am free,
Released from the devises of mine own slavery.
I cried to the Lord and He heard my plea,
It was through the Father’s Son I received victory.
Oh my Lord I praise You for Your mercy!

 

Won’t you join me in throwing off hindrances today?  

The walk towards freedom is so sweet.

 

 

Leave a Reply

