Who Do You Say I Am?

Once upon a time, Jesus asked his disciples, “Who do people say the Son of Man is?’

“They replied, ‘Some say John the Baptist; others say Elijah; and still others, Jeremiah or one of the prophets.’

‘But what about you?’ he asked. ‘Who do you say I am?’

“Simon Peter answered, ‘You are the Messiah, the Son of the living God.’

 “Jesus replied, ‘Blessed are you, Simon son of Jonah, for this was not revealed to you by flesh and blood, but by my Father in heaven.”  – from Matthew 16

Who do we say He is?   

It’s a question everyone should take time to reflect upon and answer.  Do we say He is the Christ?  If we say He is not the Christ and the only true God, we might as well call him a liar

Please don’t tell me Jesus was a good man and a liar. He is either one or the other:

In John 8, Jesus is speaking and says, “You are from below; I am from above. You are of this world; I am not of this world.  I told you that you would die in your sins; if you do not believe that I am he, you will indeed die in your sins.” Later in that chapter, when the Pharisees asked Jesus “Who do you think you are?”  He responded, “Very truly I tell you, before Abraham was born, I AM!”  (…after which they all picked up stones to throw at him for the “blasphemy” of calling Himself ‘God’)

“I am” is also what God called Himself in Exodus 3  when He revealed himself to Moses through a burning bush: “Moses said to God, ‘Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ Then what shall I tell them?’   God said to Moses, ‘I AM WHO I AM. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.’”

And we hear from Jesus in John 14:6… “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

So for those of us who believe he is who he said he was….

Are we living like it?

I’ve settled in my mind that He is the Messiah, the Redeemer who cleansed me from sin by His blood. But does my life reflect that belief?  I sit here perplexed. If I truly believe that The One and Only God came to Earth in the form of man, performed many miracles, and raised back to life with thousands of eye witnesses… shouldn’t I be a little shaken?  Shouldn’t my life look different from all those who don’t believe such events occurred?

I don’t question my purpose on this planet.  I know the Creator, the One who spoke it all into being, and I was created for His pleasure (not the other way around mind you, God is not here to make us happy…) …and that should give me unshakeable joy, yes?  Yes.  It should make me want to go to the ends of the Earth, and throw aside all comfort just to want to please Him in gratitude for all He has done for me – giving me eternal life and a fulfilled life here on Earth.

Who do I say He is? A wimpy little man in a white robe? A nice little kid’s story? Or the one who instantly calms a raging sea, the One who called Lazarus to come out of his grave, and the One who holds the keys to heaven and hell.  

He is no Hum-Drum God.  He wants more of me than to just live a good life. Do I value the opportunities of every day? Am I listening for his commands?  Am I laying down my rights and my pride to glorify Him and His commandments? 

Who do I say He is?

Healer? Then let me pray with boldness for healing.

The righteous judge? Let me pray with faith for swift justice for the oppressed.

Is He LOVE? Let me love the world’s unloveable.

Is He holy, set apart and pure? Let me be set-apart and pure.

Who do I say He is? Worth seeking with as much intensity as one seeks out a lost treasure? Am I sharing this treasure with others? Truly, if we have such a great treasure, it will be selfish to keep it to ourselves.

But oh, it’s hard to share this – such a  touchy subject. People get offended. People get stubborn and plug their spiritual ears when you try to tell them there is a God – and they can Know Him, and His name is Jesus.  So I just shut up. I sit quiet. Not wanting to rock the boat. 

But is that LOVEsitting quiet, knowing that the people around me may be robbed of a great joy if I do not speak up? I’m not even talking heaven or hell here today.  I’m just saying that there is an abundant life available to all who accept it, and WHY am I afraid to share it with those I love. Yes, I hope my life speaks for my beliefs, but sometimes words are also necessary.

Today I am reflecting on who Jesus really is.  I want to know all of His attributes, and I want my life, my family, and my church to reflect all the beauty, truth, justice and mercy that are encompassed in Christ.

I wrote this post  a while ago and have been sitting on it.  Well, I’ve been dying to write another blog lately, and nothing was coming to me… no inspired words to share. Last week I was complaining to God that I had nothing to write about, and asking Him to give me something, and He reminded me that I had this post… and that I needed to share it. I guess I don’t get new assignments until the last one is completed.  😉

….

4 thoughts on “Who Do You Say I Am?

Leave a Reply

