Jesus and the Gay Boy Scout

Day two of being a non-homeschooling stay-at-home-mom here. I’ve spent a lot of money in the last two days. All on food and school supplies, but still. I think it would be good to blog more and shop less.

SO.  I have some pretty deep feelings about how I believe Christians should treat gay people.  I listened to a dear friend recently tell me how they were disappointed that the Boy Scouts are considering opening up to young men who are gay.  Let me say first, that I think the Boy Scouts is a great organization. I love that my son is a Boy Scout.  I love the Scout Law: “A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent”

My question is:

Please tell me what good it would do to shut gays out from this group? 

I wonder what Christ would do if he were a boy scout troop leader…

I like to think he would invite them in. In fact I’m pretty sure he would. He would then tell them how much he loved them, tell them to follow Him, and be willing to walk with them as they navigate through the crazy time that is adolescence.  I bet that would break down so many walls. I bet it would heal broken hearts…

I imagine young men who feel judged and excluded so often in life, breathe a sigh of relief when they see the open arms of an organization like the boy scouts.  Knowing someone cares.  Knowing they are invited to be a part of something exciting.  Accepting them into the group doesn’t mean you condone their choices.  It means you value their worth as a fellow human being.

Might opening our arms to others chip one more layer off that ugly hypocritical mask that outsiders picture when they think of Christians?

….

*Post edit/addition*

So it seems I was misinformed and it is not the gay teenagers who were banned but may be allowed, it is the leaders.  My position holds.  The Boy Scouts does not currently require all scout leaders to be Christian, so what is the difference?   Parents always have the option of choosing which troop they want their child to join; they can pick their troop leader that way. For us, we are glad Blake’s troop leader is a wonderful man of God.  But putting up a “Keep Out” sign is no way to show Christ’s love.  Please feel free to discuss with me.

Leave a Reply

