Stepping Out Onto the Water

“Now in the fourth watch of the night Jesus went to them, walking on the sea. And when the disciples saw Him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, “It is a ghost!” And they cried out for fear.

But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, “Be of good cheer! It is I; do not be afraid.

And Peter answered Him and said, “Lord, if it is You, command me to come to You on the water.”

So He said, “Come.” And when Peter had come down out of the boat, he walked on the water to go to Jesus.  But when he saw that the wind was boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink he cried out, saying, “Lord, save me!”

And immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and caught him, and said to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?”  And when they got into the boat, the wind ceased.” – Matthew 14:25-32

There are times in life when Jesus calls us to leave our comfortable little boat and step onto a wild sea. Will we be discouraged by the wind and waves, or keep our faces directed at the Savior – trusting Him to keep us safe?

When He calls me, I want to obey.  Seeing Him out on the water – my Lord who makes the impossible possible – I have such peace and confidence as I prepare to step over the side of the boat.  He calls me and I am joyful and expectant at the possibilities that lie ahead of me.

As I step out though, voices real or imagined, doubters or naysayers, are like the raging wind.  Those voices can cause me to second guess what I am doing – my feet already on the water, already in the middle of the miracle of obedience – will I own what they are saying? Will I be one of little faith who sinks so quickly?  Or will I instead hold true to my Lord’s voice that I have heard to clearly – calling me to step out?

My husband and I have heard challenging calls before…. calls for Andrew start his own business . . . to begin homeschooling our children . . . and each time there were people afraid for us, or thinking we were wrong.  But we know what we heard. We know Who we heard… and those leaps of faith produced such beautiful fruit.

Our confidence is in Christ, the perfector of our Faith. He is working something good in us, and it will be completed as He promised.  We can’t see every step, but we see His face, and we hear His voice calling us to come to Him . . . to walk on the water.  (And I’m the kind of girl who would much rather be walking on the water than sitting in a boring ol’ boat anyway.)

You see…

When I close out the sound of the wind – all becomes quiet,

and it’s just me and my Lord.

And in that moment,

all I feel is peace

and the guts to take another step.

Leave a Reply

